Take a look around The Curragh Racecourse with our virtual photo tour of our facilities below.
Celebrating the picturesque landscape of the Curragh, the Main Grandstand is comprised of three linear planes (10,500 square metres) that are respectful to the Curragh landscape whilst cutting a dramatic and elegant silhouette. Designed as a powerful ﬂoating horizontal form, the grandstand roof celebrates the horizon-tality of the landscape and the new racecourse structures set within it. The 39m diagonal cantilevered roof emphasises the contrast between the natural undulating forms of the Curragh, and the precision of the man-made.
Viewed from near and afar, the dramatic grandstand roof (700 square metres) gives the Curragh a unique and distinctive character which respects and enhances the heritage of the Curragh grasslands.
The materials for the new grandstand were chosen for their links to local ﬂora, geology and the rural context in which they are set. The roof’s Vulcan Copper colour and materiality references the rural Irish vernacular and the agricultural heritage of Kildare. Ensured a seamless and precise roof form was realised, the underside of the steel roof structure is clad with aluminium sinusoidal sofﬁt panels while the upper roof is clad in a metal ‘standing seam’ with ‘bullnose’ edge.
Consists of: 4,300 square metres of glazing, 14,000 square metres of paving, 8,900 tonnes of precast concrete, 388 concrete piles, 20km of pipe works, 2000 square metres of ducting works, 1,400 tonnes of structural steel.
Orby's is an owners' dining facility sitauted at the entrance to The Curragh which overlooks the parade ring.
The parade ring provides over 6 metres per horse for up to 30 horse fields.
Queens Room - Queen Victoria in 1861 came to the Curragh to visit her son. Albert Edward, Prince of Wales was stationed in the Curragh Camp. The historic Queen’s Room, which was relocated as a standalone feature and reassembled block by block from the old stand, now overlooks the large parade ring. The Queen’s Room was the last part of the stand to be built in 1853.
|Champions Hall||Large public area|
|Atrium Cafe||Ground floor corner cafe|
|Food Court||Public food offering|
|Guineas Bar||Public Bar|
|Paddy Power Shop||Betting Shop|
|Tote||Betting Shop on all levels|
|ATM||Inside entrance hall|
Derby Bar - public bar
Members' Lounge - The exclusive lounge looks over the parade ring on Level 1 of the grandstand.
Lilywhites Lounge is a public bar of Level 2 of the grandstand.
The Classic Suites features two feature sculpted leather walls created by Kildare craftsman Garvan de Bruir.
The Studio created a 10 meter long (and 1.6m tall) engraving in leather panels. The engraving shows the historic Curragh plains and its position in Co. Kildare. The engraving is based on the 1840’s ordnance survey of Ireland.
The second engraving is specific to the Racecourse itself. Contrasting an image of the course in 1807 by H.Walker with a contemporary version of the course. Accurately positioning the starting post for all the famous races. Mapping the distances in furlongs along the course and the renowned gallops.
St Leger Restaurant