Saturday 17th July - Juddmonte Irish Oaks | The Curragh Racecourse
Saturday 17th July - Juddmonte Irish Oaks Festival

Saturday 17th July - Juddmonte Irish Oaks Festival

1.45 Juddmonte IEBF Maiden

2.15 Dingle Whiskey Handicap

2.45 Paddy Power Sapphire Stakes (Group 2)

3.20 Jebel Ali Racecourse and Stables Anglesey Stakes (Group 3)

3.55 Paddy Power Scurry (Premier Handicap)

4.25 Juddmonte Irish Oaks (Group 1)

4.55 Ladies Derby

5.25 Aquaturf Handicap

*Race times are subject to change

Juddmonte Irish Oaks

The Juddmonte Irish Oaks was inaugurated in 1895 and it was run over a mile until 1915 at which point it settled at its current distance  English trained fillies have an especially strong record in the Irish Oaks and have been victorious on 49 occasions. The first horse to complete the Epsom-Irish Oaks double was Masaka in 1948. A total of 14 fillies have won both races and they are as follows:

1948 Masaka 1971 Altesse Royale 1975 Juliet Marney 1978 Fair Salinia 1981 Blue Wind 1987 Unite 1988 Diminuendo* (dead heated with Melodist) 1992 User Friendly 1999 Ramruma 2004 Ouija Board  2006 Alexandrova  2009 Sariska  2010 Snow Fairy  2017 Enable

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)

FRANKIE DETTORI with 5 wins: Lailani (2001), Vitnage Tipple (2003), Blue Bunting (2011) & Enable (2017)  Star Catcher (2019) 

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)

AIDAN O’BRIEN with 5 wins: Alexandrova (2006), Peeping Fawn (2007), Moonstone (2008), Bracelet (2014) & Seventh Heaven (2016) 

2020 Highlights of the Juddmonte Irish Oaks

2020 Winner  - Juddmonte Irish Oaks, Group 1

Horse - Even So

Owner - Mrs John Magnier

Trainer - G M Lyons

Jockey - C T Keane

2020 Winner - Kilboy Estate Stakes, Group 2

Horse - Lemista

Owner - Peter M Brant

Trained - G M Lyons

Jockey - C T Keane

This race was established in 2001 and was run as a Listed race until its promotion to Group 3 status in 2008. In 2015 it was raised to Group 2 level and it was moved from Derby Weekend to the Oaks meeting. Mecca’s Angel was second in 2015 before going on to win the Nunthorpe Stakes and she won this race in 2016 before then following up in that’s year’s Nunthorpe. The 2017 runner-up Marsha won that year’s Prix de l’Abbaye while the 2018 scorer Havana Gold returned to the Curragh to win the Group 1 Flying Five Stakes last September. 
LEADING RIDER (since 2001)
JOHNNY MURTAGH  with 3 wins: Deportivo (2003), Snaefell (2007) & Definightly (2012)
MICHAEL HALFORD with 2 wins: Snaefell (2007) & Invincible Ash (2011)
ROGER CHARLTON with 2 wins: Deportivo (2003) & Definightly
EDWARD LYNAM with 2 wins: Slade Power (2013) & Soffia (2019)

Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.

Latest news