Sunday 22nd May - Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival | The Curragh Racecourse
Sunday 22nd May - Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

Sunday 22nd May - Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

1.30 Tally Ho Stud IEBF Fillies Maiden

2.05 Heider Family Stables Gallinule Stakes (Group 3)

2.40 Tattersalls Gold Cup (Group 1)

3.15 Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas (Group 1)

3.50 Betway Handicap

4.20 IEBF Habitat Handicap

4.55 Betway Irish EBF Maiden

5.30 Heed Your Hunch at Betway Handicap


Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas

2020 Winner
Horse: Peaceful
Owner: Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith & Mrs John Magnier
Trainer: A P O'Brien
Jockey: J A Heffernan

LEADING RIDERS (since 1990)
RYAN MOORE with 3 wins: Marvellous (2014), Winter (2017) & Hermosa (2019)
SEAMIE HEFFERNAN with 3 wins: Imagine (2001), Halfway To Heaven (2008) and Misty For Me (2011)

LEADING TRAINER (since 1990)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 9 wins: Classic Park (1997), Imagine (2001), Yesterday (2003), Halfway To Heaven (2008), Misty For Me (2011), Marvellous (2014) & Winter (2017), Hermosa (2019) & Peaceful (2020)

Tattersalls Gold Cup, Group 1 (€300,000)

The Group 1 Tattersalls Gold Cup was included in the top fifteen highest rated races in the world last year following the victory of Magical for the second successive year. 

2020 Winner
Horse - Magical
Trainer - A P O'Brien
Jockey - W M Lordan
Owner - Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith & Mrs John Magnier

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)
PAT SMULLEN with 3 wins: Grey Swallow (2005), Casual Conquest (2009) & Fascinating Rock (2016)
JAMES DOYLE with 3 wins: Al Kazeem (2013), Noble Mission (2014) & Al Kazeem (2015)
JOHNNY MURTAGH with 3 wins: Notnowcato (2007), Duke of Marmalade (2008) & Fame and Glory (2010)

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 9 wins:
Black Sam Bellamy (2003), Powerscourt (2004), Duke Of Marmalade (2008), Fame And Glory (2010), So You Think (2011 & 2012) & Lancaster Bomber (2018), Magical (2019), Magical (2020)


This race is named after the Irish-based sire Gallinule who became the first English champion sire to spend his entire stud career in Ireland. His progeny included the ‘mare of the century’ Pretty Polly and six Irish Derby winners in seven years.
The Gallinule was restricted to three-year-olds from its first running in 1947 until 1992. From 1994 until 2004 older horses were eligible to compete in the race but since then it has been restricted to the classic generation. After being run as a Group 2 for a period, the Gallinule has held Group 3 status since 1998 and it has been held at the Curragh every year apart from the 2001 and 2002 runnings which were staged at Leopardstown. 
Latrobe, who finished second to Platinum Warrior in the 2018 race, became the first Irish Derby winner to contest the Gallinule since Assert all the way back in 1982. The subsequent Cox Plate winner Adelaide, the now Australian-based Group 1 winner Homesman, the English St Leger hero Leading Light are notable recent winners of the race while Brief Truce won the Gallinule before landing the St James’s Palace Stakes at Royal Ascot.

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)
JOHNNY MURTAGH  with 4 wins: Exaltation (2001), Hebridean 
(2008), Grand Ducal (2009) & Jan Vermeer (2010)

AIDAN O’BRIEN  with 15 wins: Urban Ocean (1999), Glyndebourne (2000), Della Francesa (2002), Meath (2004), Puerto Rico (2006), Alexander Of Hales (2007), Hebridean (2008), Grand Ducal 
(2009), Jan Vermeer (2010), Alexander Pope (2011), Leading Light 
(2013), Adelaide (2014), Beacon Rock (2016) & Homesman (2017), Constantinople (2019).

Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.

Latest news
Our Sponsors