Sunday 11th September - Longines Irish Champions Weekend, Day 2 | The Curragh Racecourse
Sunday 11th September - Longines Irish Champions Weekend, Day 2

Sunday 11th September - Longines Irish Champions Weekend, Day 2

1.45 IEBF Bold Lad Sprint Handicap

2.20 Moyglare Jewels Blandford Stakes Group 2

2.55 Derrinstown Stud Flying Five Group 1

3.30 Moyglare Stud Stakes Group 1

4.05 Goffs Vincent O'Brien National Stakes Group 1

4.40 Comer Group International Irish St Leger Group 1

5.15 Tattersalls Ireland Super Auction Sale Stakes

5.45 IEBF Northfields Premier Handicap

*Race times are subject to change 




Formerly based at the Phoenix Park and then Leopardstown, the Flying Five has been run at the Curragh since 2002. For the second time in its history it was upgraded to Group 2 status in 2015 and in 2018 it became a Group 1. For a period two-year-olds were permitted to take part in this race but they have been excluded since 2003. The race produced a trio of dual winners in the 1990s – Flowing, Tropical and Tedburrow – but none can match the exploits of the English raider Benbaun who won three consecutive renewals of the race from 2005 to 2007. The race is also notable as it provided Aidan O’Brien with his initial Group 1 success on the flat when Desert King prevailed in 1996. The race is part of the Breeders Cup “Win and You’re In” initiative with 2020 winner Glass Slipper subsequently winning the Breeders Cup Turf Sprint in 2020.

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)
MICHAEL KINANE with 2 wins: Ishiguru (2001) & Ringmoor Down (2004).
PAT SMULLEN with 2 wins: Benbaun (2006 & 2007).
WILLIE SUPPLE with 2 wins: Tedburrow (1999) & Reverence (2009).

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
AIDAN O'BRIEN with 3 wins: Ishiguru (2001) & Caravaggio (2017, Fairyland (2019).
MARK WALLACE GB with 3wins: Benbaun (2005-2007).


The first running of the Moyglare Stud Stakes took place in 1973 and the race was staged over six furlongs until 1991 after which it transitioned to its current trip of seven furlongs. Since 1983 it has held Group 1 status and it is the only Group 1 race for two-year-old fillies in Ireland.  
A number of Moyglare winners have gone to make their mark in the following season’s classics and these include Minding, Sky Lantern, Misty For Me, Again, Tarascon and Sayyedati. The Moyglare gave Joseph O’Brien his first Group 1 victory as a trainer and his brother Donnacha a first Group 1 winner as a jockey when Intricately succeeded in 2016. Intricately also has the distinction of being the race’s longest priced winner. 

LEADING RIDER (since 1990)
SEAMUS HEFFERNAN with 2 wins: Misty For Me (2010) & Minding (2015).
DONNACHA. P. O'BRIEN with 2 wins: Intricately (2016) & Happily (2017).

AIDAN O’BRIEN with 9 wins: Sequoyah (2000), Quarter Moon 
(2001), Necklace (2003) Rumplestiltskin (2005), Misty For Me (2010), Maybe (2011), Minding (2015) & Happily (2017), Love (2019).


The National Stakes was established in 1849 and was run as the Great National Produce Stakes in its first year. From 1850 to 1959 it was then known as the National Produce Stakes and since then it has been registered as the National Stakes. Since 1985 the race has held Group 1 status and from 1959 it has been run over seven furlongs apart from the period 1997-99. 
The race is Ireland’s premier two-year-old colt’s event and since 
1996 it has been won by twelve subsequent classic winners – Desert King (1996), King Of Kings (1997), Sinndar (1999), Refuse To Bend (2002), Dubawi (2004), George Washington (2005), New Approach 
(2007), Mastercraftsman (2008), Power (2011), Dawn Approach (2012), Gleneagles (2014), Churchill (2016).
The race is also notable as it provided Aidan O’Brien with his initial Group 1 success on the flat when Desert King prevailed inn 1996. 

LEADING RIDER (since 1990)
KEVIN MANNING with 4 wins: Teofilo (2006), New Approach 
(2007), Dawn Approach (2012) & Verbal Dexterity (2017).
MICHAEL KINANE with 4 wins: Definite Article (1994), Mus-If 
(1998), Hawk Wing (2001) and One Cool Cat (2003).

AIDAN O’BRIEN with 9 wins: Beckett (2000), Hawk Wing (2001), One Cool Cat (2003) George Washington (2005), Mastercraftsman 
(2008), Power (2011), Gleneagles (2014), Air Force Blue (2015) & Churchill (2016).


The Irish St Leger was established in 1915 and was initially restricted to three-year-olds. It was only in 1983 that it was opened up to older horses. Only two horses Museum (1935) and Windsor Slipper (1942) have won the Irish 2000 Guineas, the Irish Derby and the Irish St Leger. 
The great Vintage Crop remains the only horse to have followed up a victory in the Irish St Leger by landing the Melbourne Cup. A unquie feat which he achieved in 1993. The 1990 winner Ibn Bey almost carved out his own piece of racing history as he followed his victory at the Curragh with a remarkable bid for the Breeders Cup Classic in which he finished second to Unbridled. 
Since being opened up to older horses the Irish St Leger has produced five multiple winners with Vinnie Roe being by far the most successful with four successive wins between 2001 and 2004. 

LEADING RIDERS (since 1999)
PAT SMULLEN with 4 wins: Vinnie Roe (2001-2004).
MICHAEL KINANE with 4 wins: Vintage Crop (1993 and 1994), Kastoria (2006) & Alandi (2009).

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
DERMOT WELD with 7 wins: Vinnie Roe (2001-2004) & Voleuse De Coeurs (2013) & Search for a Song (2019 & 2020).


This race is named in honour of one of the finest stallions of the first part of the twentieth century. Blandford only ran four times but did win the Princess Of Wales’s Stakes as a three-year-old. Despite passing away at the age of 16, Blandford sired four English Derby winners including the unbeaten Triple Crown winner of 1935 Bahram. From 2001 onwards the Blandford was restricted to fillies and mares and it has been as a Group 2 since 2004. 

LEADING RIDER (since 2001)
PAT SMULLEN with 5 wins: Irresistible Jewel (2002), Chinese White (2009), Tarfasha (2014) & Shamreen (2016 and 2017).

DERMOT WELD with 7 wins: Irresistible Jewel (2002), Chinese White (2009), Tarfasha (2014), Shamreen (2016 and 2017) & Eziyra (2018), Tarnawa (2019). 

Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.