Saturday 24th September - Autumn Festival | The Curragh Racecourse
Saturday 24th September - Autumn Festival

Saturday 24th September - Autumn Festival

2021 RACES

1.25 IEBF Auction Series

1.55 IEBF Median Auction

2.30 William Hill Ireland Renaissance Stakes Group 3

3.05 William Hill Lengthen Ireland Your Odds Maiden

3.35 GAIN Advantage Series Nursery

4.10 Alan Smurfit Memorial Beresford Stakes Group 2

4.45 William Hill Ireland Pick Your Places Handicap

5.20 Bord Na Mona Recycling Apprentice Handicap

*Race times are subject to change 


This race was formerly known as the MacDonagh Boland Stakes and it was upgraded to Group 3 level in 1998 before having its distance reduced from seven to six furlongs in 2001. Since 2016 it has occupied a late September date. 

LEADING RIDER (since 2000)
JOHNNY MURTAGH  with 3 wins: Polar Way (2002) & Betwitched (2010 and 2011).

AIDAN O’BRIEN with 2 wins: Beauty Bright (2006) & The Happy Prince (2017).
KARL BURKE with 2 wins: Quiet Reflection (2017) & Unfortunately (2018).
CHARLES O’BRIEN with 2 wins: Bewitched (2010 & 2011).
MICHAEL HALFORD with 2 wins: Snaefell ( 2009)Russian Soul 


The Beresford is the final Group 2 for two-year-olds in Ireland each season. It has regained and held Group 2 status since 2003  and it has produced a host of top class performers over the last 20 years. Since 2000 it was has been won by nine subsequent Group 1 winners which include the English classic winners Saxon Warrior and Sea The Stars, the Irish Derby winners Alamshar and Capri and the outstanding middle distance runner Azamour. 

LEADING RIDERS (since 2000)
SEAMUS HEFFERNAN with 4 wins: High Definition (2020), Japan (2018), David Livingston (2011) & Septimus (2005).
JOSEPH O’BRIEN with 3 wins: Battle Of Marengo (2012), Geoffrey Chaucer (2013) & Ol’ Man River (2014). 
JOHNNY MURTAGH with 3 wins: Alamshar (2002), Azamour (2003) & St Nicholas Abbey (2009).
MICHAEL KINANE with 3 wins: Turnberry Isle (2000), Castle Gandolfo (2001) & Sea The Stars (2008).

LEADING TRAINER (since 2000)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 16 wins : Turnberry Isle (2000), Castle Gandolfo (2001), Albert Hall (2004), Septimus (2005), Eagle Mountain (2006), St Nicholas Abbey (2009), David Livingston (2011), Battle Of Marengo (2012), Geoffrey Chaucer (2013), Ol’ Man River (2014), Port Douglas (2015), Capri (2016), Saxon Warrior (2017) & Japan (2018), Innisfree (2019) & High Definition (2020).

Contact Us

How to get here

Company Registration Number: 388552

Company Registration Number: 388552

How to get here

Curragh Racecourse, Co. Kildare, R56 RR67, Ireland.

Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.

Latest news
Our Sponsors