Saturday 21st May 2022 - Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival | The Curragh Racecourse
Saturday 21st May 2022- Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

Saturday 21st May 2022- Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival


1. 45 Tally Ho Stud IEBF Maiden

2.15 GAIN Marble Hill Stakes (Group 3)

2.45 Weatherbys Ireland Greenlands Stakes (Group 2)

3.20 Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas 100th running (Group 1)

3.55 Lanwades Stud Stakes (Group 2)

4.25 Betway Spring Fillies Premier Handicap

5.00 Betway Premier Handicap

5.30 Heed Your Hunch at Betway Handicap



The Irish 2,000 Guineas is the first Irish Classic of the flat season. It is run over one mile and is confined to three-year-old thoroughbred colts and fillies only.

The Group 1 Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas will celebrate it’s 100th birthday this year having first taken place in 1921.

2020 Winner - Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas
Horse: Siskin
Owner: K Abdullah
Trainer: G M Lyons
Jockey: C T Keane

JOSEPH O’BRIEN with 3 wins:
Roderic O’Connor (2011), Power (2012) & Magician (2013) 
JOHNNY MURTAGH with 3 wins
Black Minnaloushe (2001), Henrythenavigator (2008) & Mastercraftsman (2009)

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 11 wins: Saffron Walden (1999), Black Minnaloushe (2001), Rock Of Gibraltar (2002), Henrythenavigator (2008), Mastercraftsman (2009), Roderic O’Connor (2011), Power (2012), Magician (2013), Gleneagles (2015), Churchill (2017), & Peaceful (2020)


One of the three most prestigious sprints in the Irish racing calendar, the Greenlands Stakes takes its name from the area of the Curragh plain where the racecourse is located.  In 2015 the race was upgraded to Group 2 level and restricted to horses aged four or older as part of a significant reshaping of the Irish sprinting programme. 
In recent years Slade Power (2014) and Merchant Navy (2018) have won this race before going to land the Diamond Jubilee Stakes at Royal Ascot. College Chapel completed the same double as a three-year-olds in 1993 while the 2000 winner Namid went on to win that year’s Prix de l’Abbaye.

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)
PAT SMULLEN  with 5 wins: Final Exam (2001), Benbaun (2007), Tiddliwinks (2012), Mustajeeb (2015) & Mobsta (2016)

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
DERMOT WELD  with 3 wins: Final Exam (2001), Tiger Royal (2002) & Mustajeeb (2006)


This race was first run in 2004 when it held Group 2 status. From 2007 to 2014 it was run as a Group 3 before returning to Group 2 level 
in 2015. The race is registered as the Ridgewood Pearl Stakes and it remembers the brilliant John Oxx-trained filly whose stunning three-year-old season in 1995 took in victories in the Irish 1000 Guineas, the Coronation Stakes, the Prix du Moulin and the Breeders Cup Mile. 
English-trained horses have won 5 runnings to date while the only dual winner of the race is Dermot Weld’s Emulous who was successful in 2011 and 2012.
LEADING RIDER (since 2004)
PAT SMULLEN with 4 wins: Cheyenne Star (2007), Emulous (2011 & 2012) and Brooch (2015).
LEADING TRAINER (since 2004)
DERMOT WELD with 3 wins: Emulous (2011 & 2012) and Brooch (2015).


The Marble Hill Stakes is a Group 3 flat race in Ireland open to Thoroughbreds aged two years only. It was run at the Curragh over a distance of 6 furlongs (1,207 metres).
The race has been run since 1967  It was run over 5 furlongs prior to 2017. It was run as a Group 3 race in 2020 for the first time.  It took place at Cork in 2020 due to rescheduling of races due to Covid 19.

LEADING RIDER (since 2000)
MICHAEL KINANE with 4 wins: Fasliyev (1999), Pyrus (2000), Marino Marini (2002), Newton (2003).
LEADING TRAINER (since 2000)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 9 wins: Fasliyev (1999), Pyrus (2000), Marino Marini (2002), Newton (2003), Russian Blue (2004), Heart Shaped (2008), Samuel Morse (2010), Power (2011), Fairyland (2018).
Tipperary Crystal Romi Dublin Virtual Style Event

Style Events for 2022 will be updated shortly.


2021 Style Event details below. 

We were delighted to announce that the Tipperary Crystal Romi Dublin Virtual Style Event took place on Saturday 22nd May. 

Judges were Ireland AM presenters Judy Gilroy & Lorna Weightman and they will be looking for an Individual & Authentic Racing Style in line with the Romi brand "As Individual as you".

Winner's PRIZE: €1000 Tipperary Crystal voucher redeemable online at, magnum of Taittinger and tickets to next year's Guineas Festival.

Click here for more details 


Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.