Monday 2nd May - Bank Holiday Family Day | The Curragh Racecourse
Monday 2nd May - Bank Holiday Monday Family Day

Monday 2nd May - Bank Holiday Monday Family Day

1.30 Irish EBF Stallion Auction Series Maiden (2YO) Quick Suzy - Gavin Cromwell, Gary Carroll

2.00 GAIN First Flier Stakes (Listed) Castle Star - Fozzy Stack, Chris Hayes

2.35 Coolmore Stud Irish EBF Sottsass Mooresbridge Stakes (Group 2) Broome - Aidan O'Brien, Ryan Moore

3.10 Coolmore Stud Circus Maximus EBF Athasi Stakes (Group 3) No Speak Alexander - Jessica Harrington, Shane Foley

3.45 IEBF Fillies Handicap Pale Iris - Joseph Murphy, Gary Carroll

4.20 The Dick McCormick Irish EBF Tetrarch Stakes (Listed) (sponsored by Coolmore) Lunar Space - Jim Bolger, Kevin Manning

4.55 AES Bord na Mona Apprentice Handicap Pretty Rebel - Ger O'Leary, Dean Curran

5.25 Sentinel Ireland Handicap Zephron - Denis Cullen, Annalise Cullen



The Mooresbridge Stakes takes its name from Moore’s Bridge which is a local landmark close to the racecourse on the Curragh plain. The race, which is open to horses aged four-years-old and upwards, held Listed status until it was promoted to Group 3 level in 2003. In 2017 the race was promoted to Group 2 status. 
The only horse to have won consecutive renewals of the race is Nysaean who was sent out by Richard Hannon snr to win the race in 2003 and 2004. 
The Mooresbridge is a key trial for the Group 1 Tattersalls Gold Cup in late May  and Rebelline (2002), Fame And Glory (2010), Fascinating Rock (2015), So You Think (2011) and Magical (2019) have all won both races. 
The race tends to be won by those towards the head of the market although Windsor Palace did spring a 66/1 shock in 2012 when he defeated his odds on stablemate St Nicholas Abbey.

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)
PAT SMULLEN with 4 wins: Muakaad (2001), Cairdeas (2005), Regime (2008) & Fascinating Rock (2015)

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 11 wins: Urban Ocean (2000), Septimus 
(2007), Fame And Glory (2010), So You Think (2011), Windsor Palace (2012), Camelot (2013), Magician (2014), Found (2016), Minding (2017) & Cliffs Of Moher (2018), Magical (2019).


The Athasi Stakes is named after one of the great broodmares from the early part of the last century whose progeny included Trigo - winner of the English Derby and St Leger in 1929. After holding Group 3 status from 1973-1986, it was then run as a Listed race before regaining Group 3 status in 2003. 
For a period the Athasi was restricted to three-year-olds but it was opened to four-year-olds in 1993 and since 2001 older mares have also been eligible to run in the race. 
In the last 50 years just three fillies have been able to complete the Athasi-Irish 1000 Guineas double, the most recent being Ridgewood Pearl in 1995. Miralla in 1975 and Wenduyne in 1969 were the other fillies to win both races in the last 50 years. 
Jim Bolger’s Prima Luce is the longest priced winner in the history of the Athasi after striking art 33/1 in 2008. 

LEADING RIDER (since 1999)
JOHNNY MURTAGH  with 4 wins: Jazz Princess (2006), Emily Blake (2009), Emiyna (2011) & Viztoria (2013)

DERMOT WELD  with 3 wins: Cool Clarity (2001), Rum Charger 
(2002) & Flying Jib (2014)
MICHAEL HALFORD with 3 wins: Jazz Princess (2006), Eastern Appeal (2007) & Rehana (2017)



The event is named after The Tetrarch, a legendary Irish racehorse and sire foaled in 1911.
For a period the Tetrarch Stakes held Group 3 status. It was downgraded to Listed level in 2011.
The Tetrarch Stakes can serve as a trial for the Irish 2,000 Guineas. The last horse to win both races was Awtaad in 2016.

LEADING RIDER (since 2013)
CHRIS HAYES with 3 wins: Sruthan (2013), Awtaad (2016) & Shelir (2019).

LEADING TRAINER (since 2013)
DERMOT WELD with 4 wins: Alkasser (2014), Tombelaine (2015), Imaging (2018) & Shelir (2019).

Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.