Friday 13th August | The Curragh Racecourse
Friday 13th August

Friday 13th August

4.25 Finlay Volvo Curragh Stakes

4.55 Mongey Communications Handicap

5.30 The Irish Racing Yearbook 2022 Nursery

6.00 Fitzdares Royal Whip Stakes

6.30 DMG Media Maiden

7.00 Comer Group International St Leger Trial

7.30 Derek O'Sullivan Apprentice Handicap

8.00 TRI Equestrian Handicap

*Race times are subject to change 


2020 marked the 200th running of the Royal Whip which is believed to be Ireland’s oldest continuously run horse race. The race was established in 1821 and was named after its accompanying prize, a gold handed whip which was presented by King George IV. This original prize was replaced by another whip which was presented by King William  IV in 1830. 
The race’s original prize fund of 100 guineas remained unchanged until 1954 although its distance and conditions changed several times over the 100 years that followed its first running. Since 1995 the race has been run over its current distance of a mile and a quarter and it has been run as a Group 3 since 2013 following a period at Group 2 level.
Ironically one of the joint longest priced winners in the race’s history is Alleged who struck at 33/1 in 1977 before going on to become one of the great champions of the last 100 years. The other 33/1 winner of the race was the Jim Bolger-trained My Hollow in 1980.

LEADING RIDERS (since 2000)
SEAMIE HEFFERNAN with 3 wins: Hall of Mirrors (2014), Found 
(2015) & Armory (2020).
JOHNNY MURTAGH with 3 wins: Takali (2000), King Of Rome 
(2008) and Fame And Glory (2010).
PAT SMULLEN with 3 wins: Casual Conquest (2009), Famous Name (2012) and Shamreen (2017).

LEADING TRAINER (since 2000)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 9 wins: Bach (2001), High Chaparral (2003), Solskjaer (2004), Eagle Mountain (2007), King Of Rome (2008), Fame And Glory (2010), Hall Of Mirrors (2014), Found (2015) & Armory 



This race is registered as the Ballycullen Stakes and has been staged at Leopardstown, the Curragh and Fairyhouse before settling back at the Curragh from 2010 onwards. Since 1995, when the race was won by Vintage Crop, it has been run over its current distance of a mile and three quarters. Flag Of Honour (2018), Order Of St George (2017 and 2015) and Alandi have all won this trial before going on to land the Irish St Leger itself the following month.

LEADING RIDERS (since 2000)
SEAMIE HEFFERNAN with 3 wins: Tusculum (2006), Order of St. George (2015) & Delphi (2020).
JOHNNY MURTAGH with 3 wins: Katiykha (2000), Pugin (2002) & Royal Diamond (2013).
DECLAN MCDONOGH with 3 wins: Right Key (2005), Red Moloney (2007) & Rajik (2010)

LEADING TRAINER (since 2000)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 8 wins: Tusculum (2006), Leading Light (2014), Order Of St George (2015, 2016 and 2017) & Flag Of Honour (2018), Southern France (2019) & Delphi (2020).

Where to watch

RACING TV show every race live which you can watch on your TV, tablet or mobile. For more information and to create an account, visit the Racing TV website.

RACING REPLAYS If you missed any of the action, you can watch all the replays here and on The Curragh Twitter and Facebook.

Our Sponsors