Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival | The Curragh Racecourse
Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

Friday 12th June 2020

The opening day of the 2020 season at the Curragh and the First Classic race day of the season with Europe's top colts competing for classic race glory in the Group 1, Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas.

Friday 12th June (e): Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

*Closed to the public*

4. 05    The Tally Ho Stud Maiden IEBF 2yo Maiden
4. 40    Maiden IEBF
5. 10    Equine Medirecord Handicap
5. 40    Anglesey Lodge Equine Hospital  Handicap
6. 10    Coolmore Ten Sovereigns Gallinule Stakes, Group 3
6. 40    Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas, Group 1
7. 10     Paddy Power Irish Lincolnshire
7. 40    Coolmore Magna Grecia Mooresbridge Stakes, Group 2

Saturday 13th June 2020

Day 2 of the Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival  promises to be an exciting day of racing and features some of the best 3 year old fillies with classic aspirationsin the Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas, Group 1


Saturday 13th June (e): Tattersalls Irish Guineas Festival

4.00    EquiNectar Handicap
4.35    The Tally Ho Stud Maiden IEBF 2yo Maiden
5.10    Maiden IEBF
5.45    Platinum Bloodstock & Eyrefield House Stud Handicap
6.15    Ragusa Irish Stallions Farms Handicap
6.45    Coolmore Calyx Gladness Stakes, Group 3
7.15    Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas, Group 1
7.45    Lanwades Stud Stakes, Group 2

Get involved in our social channels to help you enjoy the racing from the comfort of your own home.  #KeepingRacingSafe
Facebook - TheCurraghRacecourse
Instagram - curraghracecourse 
Twitter - @curraghrace

2020 Winner 

 Horse: Siskin

Owner: K Abdullah

Trainer: G M Lyons

Jockey: C T Keane


2019 Winner
Horse - Phoenix of Spain 4/9F
Trainer - Charles Hills
Jockey - Jamie. P. Spencer
Owner - Tony Wechsler & Ann Plummer 
Prize Money - €400,000
Conditions - 3 year old only entire colt & fillies
Distance - 1 MILE

The Irish 2000 Guineas was established in 1921 but it was not until not 1969 that Right Tack became the first horse to complete the English-Irish 2000 Guineas double. In all nine colts have won both races, the most recent being Churchhill in 2017.

English and Irish 2000 Guineas winners:
1969 Right Tack 
1987 Don’t Forget Me
1990 Tirol            
1992 Rodrigo de Triano
2002 Rock Of Gibraltar   
2007 Cockney Rebel
2008 Henrythenavigator
2015 Gleneagles
2017 Churchill

There have been 29 English-trained winners of the race with one from France
(Spinning World) and one from America (Fourstars Allstar).

The 1935 winner Museum remains the longest priced winner in the race’s history at 100/1 while there have been two 33/1 winners in Ballymore (1972) and Northern Treasure (1976). Meanwhile the James Toller-trained Bachelor Duke was a maiden when winning this race in 2004.
2019 winner Phoenix of Spain now stands at the Irish National Stud.

LEADING RIDERS (since 1999)
JOSEPH O’BRIEN with 3 wins:
Roderic O’Connor (2011), Power (2012) & Magician (2013) Johnny Murtagh with 3 wins: Black Minnaloushe (2001), Henrythenavigator (2008) & Mastercraftsman (2009).

LEADING TRAINER (since 1999)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 10 wins: Saffron Walden (1999), Black Minnaloushe (2001), Rock Of Gibraltar (2002), Henrythenavigator (2008), Mastercraftsman (2009), Roderic O’Connor (2011), Power (2012), Magician (2013), Gleneagles (2015) & Churchill (2017).

2020 Winner:
 Horse: Peaceful
Owner: Michael Tabor, Derrick Smith & Mrs John Magnier
Trainer: A P O'Brien
Jockey: J A Heffernan

2019 Winner
Horse - HERMOSA 5/2F
Trainer - A.P. O'Brien 
Jockey - R. Moore 
Owner -  Smith/Magnier/Tabor 
Prize Money - €400,000 
Conditions - 3 year old fillies only  
Distance - 1 MILE

This race was inaugurated a year after the Irish 2000 Guineas and the first running in 1922 was won by Lady Violette and she was ridden by Morny Wing who remains the most successful jockey’s in the race’s history with seven victories. Wing’s last success came a quarter of a
century after his first as he teamed up with Hubert Hartigan to take the 1947 running with Sea Symphony.

Only four fillies have completed the English-Irish 1000 Guineas double. The first to do so was Attraction in 2004 and she was followed by Finsceal Beo (2007), Winter (2017) and Hermosa (2019). Finsceal Beo came within a head of completing the near inconceivable treble of the
English-French-Irish Guineas hat-trick. The 20/1 success of Classic Park in 1997 is particularly noteworthy as it was the first classic success for Aidan O’Brien. There have been 28 English-trained winners of the race while the last of the four French trained successes came when Olivier Douieb’s L’Attrayante justified 4/1 favouritism in 1983.

LEADING RIDERS (since 1990)
RYAN MOORE with 3 wins: Marvellous (2014), Winter (2017) &
Hermosa (2019)
SEAMIE HEFFERNAN with 3 wins: Imagine (2001), Halfway To
Heaven (2008) and Misty For Me (2011)

LEADING TRAINER (since 1990)
AIDAN O’BRIEN with 8 wins: Classic Park (1997), Imagine (2001),
Yesterday (2003), Halfway To Heaven (2008), Misty For Me (2011),
Marvellous (2014) & Winter (2017), Hermosa (2019

Latest news