Competitive eight race programme for Curragh Season Finale  | The Curragh Racecourse
Competitive eight race programme for Curragh Season Finale 

Competitive eight race programme for Curragh Season Finale 

The final race day of the 2021 season at the Curragh takes place this Tuesday and has attracted 137 runners over eight races, following this morning’s declaration stage. 
Raise You, Barbados, Micro Manage and Protagonist feature among the twelve runners who will go to post in the Paddy Power Amateur Riders Derby, with other notable contenders including  Bold Approach and Shoshone Warrior. Cyclamen and Madonnadelrosario will represent Aidan O’Brien in the competitive Paddy Power Play Card Nursery. They feature among the eight runners, who also include Shaky Operator, PurpleDawn and Mr Globalist.

There are 23 runners in the Paddy Power “From the Horse’s Mouth” Maiden, 16 in the Paddy Power “Horsey Run Fast” Handicap and 24 runners in the Paddy Power “I’d Love A Pint but forgot my Covid Cert” Handicap.
24 two year olds go to post for the opening Irish Stallion Farms Fillies Maiden, while there are 18 runners in the Irish Stallion Farms Maiden over 6 furlongs.
12 riders will line up in inaugural Horseware Student Derby which will bring the season to a close.  The innovative race, which is the brainchild of Riley Dargan, Paddy Barlow and the Curragh Racecourse, is the first of its kind which will feature the top riders from each of the universities of the European Student Horseracing Federation (ESHF), competing over the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby track of 12 furlongs (2400 metres).

The 12 participating riders are as follows:
Harry Swan               Trinity College Dublin
George Connolly       UCD
Annalise Cullen         NUIG
Mark McDonagh        University of Limerick
Ben Harvey               Maynooth University
Sarah Verling            Munster Technological University
Paddy Barlow            Nottingham University
Freddie Procter         Cardiff University
Albi Tufnell                Cambridge University
Alice McGonnell        Oxford University
Billy Chatterton          Harper Adams University
Aine Lane                  University College Cork

The prize of the race is a €5,000 charity prize fund which will be donated to the equine related charity of the winning rider's choice, generously donated by John Lavery
The 2021 Curragh Racing Awards will be presented during the afternoon. Voting closes today at 8pm for the Leading Training and Rider Performance of the season – see

Following 6mm of rain since yesterday
Straight course: Soft
Round Course: Yielding to Soft

Racing on far track (Curragh side). Stalls in centre for all sprints

Declared runners link Click HERE

Possibility of showers over coming days

Where to watch
Racing TV – all races

Admission tickets are on sale at €10 to include complimentary racecard and must be pre purchased by going to  No cash ticket purchase is available on race day.  Under 18s free accompanied by an adult.