15 runners confirmed for Equine MediRecord Student Derby this Thursday | The Curragh Racecourse
15 runners confirmed for Equine MediRecord Student Derby this Thursday

15 runners confirmed for Equine MediRecord Student Derby this Thursday

Fifteen individual third level colleges will be represented in the third running of the Equine MediRecord Student Derby, the feature race of the competitive eight race programme taking place at The Curragh this Thursday. These include representatives from Britain, Norway and France, taking on a very strong contingent of Irish based riders. The unique race, which was first run in 2021, was created to promote the sport of racing amongst young people throughout Europe and will see riders competing against each other for the chance to be crowned Europe’s best student jockey.


Maponus                             Sophie O’Neill                    University College Dublin (UCD)

Indulging                             Dan Hyde                             Trinity College Dublin (TCD)

Hazran                                  Danielle Kirwan                 University College Cork (UCC)

Pachmena                           Mark McDonagh              University of Limerick (UL)

Golden Star                         Billy Coonan                       National University of Galway (NUIG)

Giselles Defence                Alex Harvey                        Maynooth University

Our Dickie                            Alan O’Sullivan                  Munster Technological University (MTU)

Albatala                                Cillian McConnell              Dublin City University (DCU)

Florida Taiga                       John Gleeson                      Cork College Commerce (CCC)

Tasayad                                Jordan Ratcliffe                  CAFRE

Rotolo                                   Mie Blichfeldt                     Hoyskolen Kristiania (Norway)

Le Comte De Frou            Henri Barbe                        ESCP Business School (France)

Crimson                               Alice Tregoning                  University of Exeter (UK)

David Garrick                      Paddy Barlow                     University Of Nottingham (UK)

Make The Switch              Harry Sexton                      Carlow Technological University


A total of 137 runners have been declared across eight races with 21 going to post in the Friarstown Stud Maiden, 12 in the Big Picture Communications Handicap, 17 in the 20 Years Taxi4Horses Handicap, 18 in the Bill Hanlon Memorial EBF Maiden and 16 in the opening Donohue Marquees EBF Maiden,  while there are 19 in both division one and two of the Cavalor Equine Nutrition Handicap


Confirmed runners: Microsoft Word - 2023_ONOR310 (hri-ras.ie)


Ground: Yielding to Soft

Track: Middle track with stalls in centre for all sprints

Forecast: Main dry today, persistent rain will move in from midnight throughout the night until tomorrow morning with accumulations of 10 to 12 mms. Mainly dry thereafter.

There to Watch

All races broadcast live on Racing TV


How to Get there

Free car parking

Free return shuttle buses from Kildare Town Train Station, collecting in the Square and from Newbridge Train Station, collecting in the Main Street by Eddie Rockets.