The Curragh 2021 Awards | The Curragh Racecourse
The Curragh 2021 Awards

The Curragh 2021 Awards

Congratulations to all the nominees of The Curragh 2021 Awards!

The Curragh Awards acknowledges the outstanding achievements during 2021 and presented an opportunity for the public to be involved in determining the champions of the season by voting for their favourite performance in both the leading riding and training category. When voting opened there was a great response from the public who have chosen Rory Cleary as Leading Riding Performance and Johnny Murtagh as Leading Training Performance both having their first classic winners. 

2021 was an exceptional year for record breaking jockey Colin Keane who was also named Leading Jockey with Aidan O'Brien scooping Leading Trainer. The Curragh presented two special achievement awards with one going to Ben Coen who enjoyed a fantastic season with his first classic win aboard Sonnyboyliston in the Comer Group International Irish St Leger as well as winners in both Royal Ascot and Goodwood. The second special achievement award went to The Kildare Racing Club, owners of Sonnyboyliston. 


Leading Riding Performance 2021 Winner - Rory Cleary, Mac Swiney, Tattersalls Ireland 2,000 Guineas 

Leading Training Performance 2021 Winner - Johnny Murtagh, Sonnyboyliston, Comer Group International Irish St Leger
Leading Trainer 2021 Winner - Aidan O'Brien
Leading Jockey 2021 Winner - Colin Keane 
Special Achievement 2021 Winner - Ben Coen, Sonnyboyliston, Comer Group International Irish St Leger
Special Achievement 2021 Winner -  Kildare Racing Club, Sonnyboyliston, Comer Group International Irish St Leger

Watch The Curragh Riding Performance Nominees

  1. Rory Cleary, McSwiney, Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas
  2. Chris Hayes, Castle Star, GAIN Marble Hill Stakes
  3. Shane Foley, Ebro River, Keeneland Phoenix Stakes
  4. Colin Keane, Rev De Vol, Sky Bet Orby Stakes
  5. Billy Lee, La Petite Coco, Moyglare “Jewels” Blandford Stakes
  6. Danny Sheehy, Major Power, Paddy Power Scurry Handicap


Watch The Curragh Training Performance Nominees

  1. Johnny Murtagh, Sonyboyliston, Comer Group International Irish St Leger
  2. Eddie Lynam, Romantic Proposal, Derrinstown Stud Flying Five
  3. Fozzy Stack, Castle Star, GAIN  Marble Hill and GAIN  First Flier
  4. Noel Meade, Helvic Dream, Tattersalls Gold Cup
  5. Joe Murphy, Gustavus Weston, Weatherbys Ireland Greenlands and Rathasker Stud Phoenix Sprint
  6. Jack Davison, Mooneista, Paddy Power Sapphire Stakes


As a thank you for casting your vote, all voters will be entered into a draw for an exclusive yard visit with the winning trainer for 2 people which will be announced in the coming days.