Tote Irish Lincolnshire and Big Bad Bob Gladness Stakes attract impressive entries

The Latest News

Tote Irish Lincolnshire and Big Bad Bob Gladness Stakes attract impressive entries

March 12, 2015

Everything is set at the Curragh for another exciting season, with the Tote Irish Lincolnshire taking centre stage on the first of nineteen race days in 2015 on Sunday 29th March.

The 100,000 euro contest is one of four high profile handicaps which the Tote will sponsor at the Co. Kildare venue this year. Following yesterday’s first entry stage, the ultra competitive contest has attracted strong entries from British based trainers including the William Knight trained Group race winner Fire Ship, Newbury Spring Cup winner Gabrial’s Kaka trained by Richard Fahey, the Ed Dunlop trained Zarwaan and recent Wolverhampton winner Sovereign Debt trained by Dandy Nicholls. The home trained team includes last year’s winner Stuccodor trained by Dermot Weld, the Aidan O’Brien trained Bishan Bedi, Dolce N Karama trained by former leading jockey Pat Shanahan and the Ger Lyons trained Chapter Seven.

Other highlights of the seven race programme include the Group 3 Lodge Park Stud Park Express Stakes, Tally Ho Stud 2 year old Maiden, Big Bad Bob Maiden and the Joanna Morgan Lifetime Achievement Handicap which will honour one the legends of Irish racing who recently retired as a trainer.

The 150th running of the Irish Derby taking place on Saturday 27th June will be the pinnacle of the season and there are extensive plans to celebrate Ireland most iconic race in style.

Successful International globe trotting star Gordon Lord Byron and Dick Whittington, winner of the Group 1 Keeneland Phoenix Stakes, are two of the 35 entries in the Big Bad Bob Gladness Stakes following yesterday’s first entry stage.

Afternoon Sunlight, Ansgar, Avenue Gabriel, Brendan Bracken, Tested and Due Diligence are also among the entries in the Group 3 contest which takes place at the Curragh on Sunday 19th April, while Sruthan looks set to face a tough challenge when he attempts to win the race for the second year in a row.

A strong British trained team include the Charlie Hills trained Cable Bay, English 2000 Guineas runner up Glory Awaits and Intibaah trained by George Baker.

The Gladness Stakes which was first run in 1963 is named to honour one of greatest racehorses of the 20th century. Previous winners include Nijinsky, El Gran Senor, Giant’s Causeway, Rebelline and Custom Cut.

Return to the news